Make A Note Monday: Selfies Can Redefine Beauty

So the other day I ran across this Dove campaign on my Facebook timeline and it made me cry (which we all know is not the biggest feat) however it just touched me so much. Maybe it’s because I have a friend who in a roundabout way is doing this very thing at this very moment in order to appreciate herself and the way she looks. She’s actually taking a selfie a day and I have really enjoyed looking at her pictures thus far!!!

I remember what it was like in middle school and high school and to know that I didn’t fit into that “beauty” mold left me devastated and I hated myself for a very long time so to see someone go in and talk to these girls about being beautiful no matter what they look like and how their selfies that highlight they’re insecurities can redefine what is beautiful I just lost it!! I felt like for them their eyes were opened and they realized that all the things they hated about themselves is exactly what made them beautiful and unique and dare I say different!!! It definitely makes me appreciate my body that much more!! So I hope you, my precious and wonderfully beautiful reader can take a selfie and truly love it (without a million re-dos)!! Be encouraged because you were fearfully and wonderfully made!

Terri

Leave a Reply

