Make A Note Monday: Piano, Perfection, Perspective

Today has been one of those days where God has been preparing me to receive something although I didn’t know what it would be. I started my day off as usual with some good Jesus time. I learned that I need to love the saints more and really allow for the eyes of my heart to be enlightened (Ephesians 1 starting in verse 15).

I also realized that while I am learning to play the piano (which was one of my new year resolutions) I will not be perfect which I currently have a problem with. The only person that is wanting me to be perfect is me… I am not really sure why I feel the need to be perfect when it comes to new things, but I do. But I know that I am holding myself to an unrealistic expectation and that’s not fair to me. I know without a doubt that God is going to work on me and break that need for perfection off of me once and for all in the coming year.

Then I was talking with a dear friend of mine and I realized that often times our perspective just needs to be adjusted. If we are focusing on the wrong thing we won’t ever see the good things or the necessary things around us. When we take our eyes off of ourselves and our present situation and refocus them on what God has asked us to focus on things become a lot clearer and we begin to walk according to His plan, which is always the better plan. So as a bit of encouragement for this new year think about what God is asking you to focus on instead of the things you want to focus on, and let me know the change that comes from that readjustment in your perspective.

Leave a Reply

