Make A Note Monday: Everyone Grieves Differently

Grief. Everyone goes through it at some point in their lives whether they want to or not. And what I have come to learn is that everyone does it differently but that doesn’t make it any less real for the people involved. I personally try to act as though if the trauma never happened and I try to stuff it down until it explodes… I know this about myself and luckily for me and maybe everyone else around me when I explode I’m usually by myself like I am now as I type these very words. The last few years around the holidays have been ridden with death for me and many of my friends and loved ones and some express it with written Facebook statuses, others post pictures, some visit the place of burial as often as they can, and still some cry themselves to sleep every night. But however a person chooses to grieve it’s perfectly natural for the loss they have suffered. Don’t try to change it just let it be and pray for those who are grieving, and maybe offer a shoulder and an ear if you can. As I become overwhelmed with tears I’ll leave you with a few fun pictures of the person I am choosing to remember today… My brother Tegan. He was the biggest teddy bear who loved to dance and had the biggest heart and a goofy laugh and I’m not just saying that because he’s with Jesus either… He really was the life of the party and everyone enjoyed having him around…

This was his 21st birthday and he hated this picture...

This was his 21st birthday and he hated this picture…

 

He was such a good sport, He played baby shower games...

He was such a good sport, He played baby shower games…

 

I'm pretty sure this is around the time he had just cut a piece of my hair...

I’m pretty sure this is around the time he had just cut a piece of my hair…

 

This was a family breakfast that he graced us with his presence...

This was a family breakfast that he graced us with his presence…

 

This was our first road trip as a family... we didn't kill each other and he packed more bags of shoes than everyone else did combined... but we still loved him.

This was our first road trip as a family… we didn’t kill each other and he packed more bags of shoes than everyone else did combined… but we still loved him.

 

So I guess this is the way that I choose to grieve today… I love you Tegan and I miss you more than I’d care to admit. Thank you for ALWAYS being there and for knowing how important family was. Thanks for loving Jesus and telling others about Him, and even though I miss you I’m glad you are getting a head start on hanging with Jesus that way you can show us all around when we get there.

Leave a Reply

