Chew On This: 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Many of you might recall that I am reading the book The Excellent Wife to become just that; a more excellent wife… well the latest chapter I finished talked all about love and what it means to really love your husband… it suggested that I memorize this scripture as well as really think about how I can implement acting out this scripture in my marriage and my thinking… so I decided to share it with all of you…

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 says,

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

  • I can work on being more patient with my husband when things don’t turn out as I planned and I can be kind in my tone of voice.
  • I can be more understanding when he does things without me and not let envy or jealousy determine my reactions.
  • I can be more open to doing what he wants to do and stop being so irritable especially in the way that I respond to him.
  • I can remember and believe that my husband is a good willed man and doesn’t do things just to annoy or disappoint me.
  •  If I remember that ultimately everything that I need comes from the Lord then I will achieve my goal of becoming a better; more excellent wife.

I know that I am doing a good job with some of the aspects of this scripture but what I listed are the areas that I need to continue to work on. I know that I have already made strides in these areas since we were first married BUT there is ALWAYS room for improvement…

Leave a Reply

