My God Given Dream

Today in a Bible study I was asked a question that I’ve never had an answer to up until just recently… It asked us about our God-given dream. What it was and how people reacted to it… Like I said I haven’t had an answer. I’ve always been searching for what God has wanted me to do. But it has come to my attention that the dream that I have is in fact given to me by God and it’s okay to have even though it goes against everything that I’ve ever known.

My God-given dream is to be a wife and a mother. Sure it seems simple and maybe insignificant to many but when I stop and think about it. I realize that this is something that I’ve wanted for a very long time. I always wanted to be a wife… maybe because no one in my family was actually anyone’s wife, and it was something different that I could do.

Plus I absolutely loved how my mom was always there. She helped us with our homework, showed up at all of our readers theater plays, sports events– she was there yelling our nicknames and everything. She always supported us and showed up to take pictures and cheer for us when we won an award. I want to give that to my children.

Ever since I was little I always said that I wanted to be married before I started having kids. I wanted to be someone’s wife, I wanted to have a life partner, one that would never leave me, one that could support me and the family that we built. I knew that it was a different path than most of my family but I saw how they lived and honestly just didn’t want to have to struggle. I wanted to be able to depend on my husband and now I get to.

So on the wake of me not getting that really awesome administrative position for the event planner I wanted I realize that regardless of what I want, me being a wife is my God-given dream and that’s where I need to focus my energy. He has taught me that it can in fact be fun to do the wifely duties that He has allowed me to experience recently. And maybe one day I’ll be able to move on but for now my place is in the home getting things in order so that when my babies come I’ll be prepared, and I couldn’t be more excited and happy! I finally know where God wants me to be. I’ve been looking for a long time and it’s eluded me until now…and I just want to be an excellent wife and mother.

What’s your God-given dream??

Leave a Reply

