Embracing The Season You’re In… By Allie Cassazza

So I read different blogs pretty much every day simply because I subscribe to them… some of them have to do with fashion, some have to do with hair, and then some have to do with how to become a better wife and mother (it’s never too early to prepare). Today I read this particular post and was so refreshed I wanted to share it with you. It comes from a blog that I enjoy called Homemakers Challenge  which is a wonderful blog full of contributing writers who have different perspectives on homemaking and life!! I’m pretty sure I found the blog itself through a friend who sent me a link she thought I’d like and well she was right!!! So here it is…

Embracing The Season You’re In

April 3, 2012 By 

 

 

In the famous passage of Ecclesiastes 3, we read, “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens…” As you probably know, the Scripture goes on to list the different times and seasons of life.

I came across these favorite words one recent morning, and was refreshed and encouraged. I’ve entered into a new season of life- having multiple littles in the house. Bella, my oldest,  is three, my son, Leeland turned one in January, and my second son, Hudson is due in May. With a home full of very small children and a newborn about to grace us with his presence, the word “overwhelmed” comes out of my mouth pretty often. Ecclesiastes 3 is a sweet reminder- there truly is a time for everything under the sun. There are many different seasons of life, and I need to be aware of, and learn to embrace the season I’m in. For me right now, that season is a mix of chaos, joy, blossoming love, and lots of learning.

In this time of potty training, changing diapers, repeating myself, chasing toddlers, preparing for birth, disciplining, training, and trying to balance marriage and homemaking in the midst of it all, Ecclesiastes 3 is a beautiful guide. It helps me simplify my life and see where I’m at in this moment, then act accordingly.

Ecclesiastes 3:2-3

“A time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build…”

This season of my life is a time of birthing new things (both metaphorically and literally in my case!), planting seeds in my children’s hearts,  and building my family and our home. Anything that kills, destroys, or tears down what my husband and I are working to build must be cut out of our lives in this crucial time.

Ecclesiastes 3:4

“A time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance…”

This verse has been huge for me in this season! There are times I just get overwhelmed and need to cry, or vent, or just be alone.  I’m learning that it is okay to have those emotions and take a moment to care for myself in those times. Some days are just harder on my body, my spirit, and my emotions, and I need to allow myself to put the kids in front of the TV while I take a hot shower or curl up on the couch for a cat nap. It’s okay! In fact, it’s more than okay, it’s necessary. Some days, if I don’t get a moment to myself, I won’t be the mom God is calling me to be. Scary Mommy comes out of hiding and that’s not good for anyone! Scary Mommy tears down what I’ve been working hard to build, and she uproots the beautiful flowers I’ve been planting in my precious babies. If I feel Scary Mommy is coming over soon, it’s time to breathe, distract the kids, and take a little break.

In these ways and more, Ecclesiastes 3 has been a sweet salve to my weary soul, and a precious guide to my crowded mind. Although it’s become a little cliché and is over-quoted, I encourage you to find it and possibly put it somewhere in your home where you can be reminded of the seasons and times for everything under the sun. And remember, friend, the season you’re in now, whatever it may be, matters. It’s shaping you into the person you’ll become soon, so take hold of it, even if you can’t wait for it to be over, and soak up the lessons and building that can come from it.

So what did you think? Were you just as refreshed as I was after reading this… Did you rush over to Homemakers Challenge to check out other great posts from them? If you haven’t I encourage you to do so here.

One thought on “Embracing The Season You’re In… By Allie Cassazza

Leave a Reply

