Rejoice. Pray. Thank.

For the past three days I have read 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 for my daily devotional provided by youversion.com. The current section that I am reading talks a lot about God’s will and these verses sum up God’s will rather nicely. Just in case you have no idea what these verses say here it is for you.

REJOICE always, PRAY without ceasing, give THANKS in all your circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.  It’s quick and easy to remember. Actually I have started incorporating these verses into my daily quiet time.

Although I am diligent in all three of these practices I have learned something new, especially in being thankful… I have always heard that you need to be thankful for everything but when I was reading this I realized that being “thankful for” and being “thankful in” are two completely different things! And man what a difference a word makes!

My eyes have been opened to what verse 18 is really talking about. It’s God’s will for our lives to be thankful in all things, it does not matter what’s going on in your life. When there are times when you can’t be thankful for something you can always be thankful in the situation.

As long as it’s God’s will for your life you can’t go wrong so you might as well practice until you get it right. Therefore I leave you all with these three simple words: Rejoice. Pray. Thank.

Be Blessed.

 

Leave a Reply

