The Help

I had the wonderful pleasure of having a date night with my husband and we went to see The Help. It was a superb movie, that made me laugh and cry. I know it sounds cliché but it’s true. I am not going to give anything away because some of you might want to go see it.

Instead I am going to talk about the feelings of gratitude that I have for the life that I currently live. The movie was really amazing and it actually mentioned God a lot more than I thought it would. Going in I didn’t have any real expectations except for it to be about some black maids that work for some white ladies… so to see people going to church and the Bible actually being quoted was kinda nice.

This REALLY is a MUST SEE!

Anyway back to my gratitude… It got me to thinking that I am blessed to be able to have the husband that I do. I am grateful that I was born when I was and not a minute sooner… I am extremely grateful that my mother adores my husband and has never had a problem with any of the men I dated in the past that always seemed to be of a different color than me… She taught me about how it was
“back in the day” but she didn’t make race a criteria for me to date… and for that I owe her a special thanks!

Walking out of the theater with tears in my eyes I was able to hug a dear friend who just so happened to have watched the same movie and I continued walking hand in hand with my husband; my knight in shining armor whose skin is as white and bright as the sun is yellow! And all I could do was Praise God because if this were a different time we would have never been together nor would I have been allowed to have the friends that I do or vice versa! It’s amazing the thoughts a well written movie can leave you with… If you haven’t seen this move go see it!

Me and My Husband!!

Thank you Jesus for allowing me to live in a time where it’s okay for me to love whom I love and have friends who don’t look like me. Thank you that you are using us in a mighty way to show people your love is real and that with you anything can happen. Help us to help those that need to see who you are and how you show up in their lives. In Jesus’ Name Amen.

Leave a Reply

