We don’t owe God

So the you version devotion for today talked about four main reasons why we should walk by the Spirit and not by the flesh. The first reason they listed was because we owe God!

Are you kidding me… I couldn’t believe that I had even read something so preposterous. All I could think about is how that could be perverted rather quickly by those who are religious by saying things like well you owe God so you need to give His church all your money and time… Or you owe God so you need to do as I tell you because I’m a man/ woman of God. What a bunch of crap.

I have never been told that I owe God nor would I ever say anything like that to anyone. I do know that we should live whole-heartedly for Him but that doesn’t really change the love that He has for us or make us any different than those who don’t love Him that way because He still loves them regardless!

And there is nothing that we could ever do that could pay off our ransom that Jesus paid for with His life. I thank God that He opened my eyes to this and allowed me to see that something wasn’t quite worded or translated right. They used Romans 8:12 to state their case that we owe God… I could be completely wrong but what do you think?

2 thoughts on “We don’t owe God

  1. If you read farther down it states that, “14 For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. 15 The Spirit you received DOES NOT MAKE YOU SLAVES, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship.” I would think that when you OWE something or someone, you are in a sense enslaved to them. Bill collectors will continuously call, that friend whose shirt you borrowed and ruined, you can’t quite look in the eye. Life in Christ is a life of freedom. If you feel like you owe God, then (in my opinion) you need to evaluate your relationship with Him. Do you feel like you owe your husband? Is our relationship with God not along those same lines?

Leave a Reply

