Forward Progress

updo for natural hair
my protective style by Kim Keepes

Okay everyone so today is the last day of the month of July and I know that some of you might actually want to know how I did on my at home goals. Did I ever clean out my closet? Am I still maintaining my portion controlled ways? How does my hair look… if you have no idea what I am talking about feel free to click here to find out.

Well I am here to say that I have completed my goals!!! I have cleaned my closet out. No longer is my closet bombarded by clothes that I can no longer fit! And although I have a small freak out session every time I open my closet and see how many clothes I don’t have; a small rush of accomplishment comes over me. I have actually found that once I purged my closet it has been easier to maintain other areas of my house specially my bathroom and my kitchen.

If I see something out-of-place I now stop what I am doing and put it where it belongs, whereas a couple of months ago I would have just let things pile up until they got out of hand. but not any more… and it’s actually becoming more of a joy to have a clean house!! I know I know some of you probably would have never thought I’d say that but its true… because I know that at any given point anyone could stop by and I don’t want to be ashamed or embarrassed for them to see my house in its present state… there’s a lot of growth in that statement and I am sure that there are plenty of people who could attest to my bad habits of just walking over a pile of clothes or throwing away dishes instead of washing them. But now I just simply deal with it before it gets too bad…

pile of clothes
all of the clothes...gone!

I am not saying that my house is perfect I have only been doing this for a month… and it probably wont ever be perfect because just when I think I’ve gotten this cleaning thing down to a science I am sure a kid or two will pop out of me and disrupt my way of doing things but what I am saying is I have found the joy in keeping a clean and presentable home. It has taken many of prayers on my part to do the chores as unto the Lord, matter of fact I find myself conversing with Jesus while I do most of them and it’s become an extension of my Jesus time. and I am proud of myself for moving forward in that aspect.

organized closet
my new and improved closet!!

I have also maintained my portions although I might kick back on my bread intake… my body is getting toned (Jillian Michaels for the Wii really does work) and I have just started in a volleyball league so I should be where I want to be in a few months of dedicated work towards getting there. My next goal would be to incorporate more healthy snacks into my daily regimen. But I am moving forward in the right direction and that’s all that matters. My husband has noticed a difference and that has been encouraging!

And as for my hair… well I’ve been doing really well. I made it a whole month in protective styles only three more to go and right now I have it in a protective style that I found on YouTube. you can check that out here.  I had my friend and personal hairstylist Kim Keepes (pronounced KEY-pess) do her interpretation of it (see picture at the top of the page) and I am very happy with the results! I am hoping to keep my hair like this for at least a week because its super convenient. I have also been co-washing it more and making sure that my hair is conditioned at all times. So hopefully when I am done with my little protective style challenge in October I will have retained some length, which is my ultimate goal.

back view of updo for natural hair
I love it!!

God is moving me forward and He’s using outlets that I never imagined that He’d use. Such as health, food, exercise, art, hair, my husband, daily chores, simple thank you cards etc. He is definitely stretching me and although it can be tiresome I know that He is preparing me for great things. Today at church we read Habakkuk 1:5 and it resonated deep within my being it says: Look among the nations and see; wonder and be astounded. For I am doing a work in your days that you would not believe if told. It just made me think of the great things that the Lord is already doing in Miami and when we finally get there and see what He has been doing, we are gonna be blown away therefore we need to prepare now. His love is real and He is moving us forward to do the things in which He has prepared in advance for us to do and I am so excited that He has chosen to use me and the broken vessel that I am. Praise the Lord!

broken vase
God can use anyone!!

One thought on “Forward Progress

Leave a Reply

