What do you believe God expects of you?

sunshine breaking through clouds
God is pretty amazing

I had to ask myself this question the other night after I went to Bible study with one of my friends. It was our homework and anyone who knows me knows that I can’t not do it even though I don’t go to that church and no one really cares if I do it or not. But the bottom line is I know it’s there and more importantly so does Jesus!

Even though at this very moment I feel like I am fading into the black abyss of someone people use to know but have forgotten. I know that God expects me to put the enemy in his place and NOT for a second longer believe that lie! People aren’t going to forget me cause I won’t forget them, and if for a moment something like that does happen well it’s probably God’s best for each of us…

Anyway so what do I believe God expects of me? Well for starters I believe that God expects me to be a good wife to my husband. One who’s faithful and kind, caring and understanding. One who loves him when no one else does yet encourages him to keep trying or at least try a different approach. I believe that God expects me to spend adequate time with Him, and to treat Him as though He is a priority in my life (which He is and ALWAYS will be). I believe that God expects me to live a certain way, by his standards and the convictions He has given me to withstand.

I also whole-heartedly believe that God expects me to have the same child-like faith I started with all the days of my life when it comes to Him revealing Himself to me and my family. I can’t help but be okay with giving the answer because Jesus told me too– even when it might not make the most sense… who cares! As long as I am doing what the Lord wants me to do that’s all that matters.

I have to love people regardless...

I believe that God expects me to love people; more than I want to at times but to love them anyway. Because through that love He will touch their hearts and their lives. I believe that God expects me to work hard at whatever it is that I do in order to show those around me the joy that I have in Him.

I believe that God expects me to use the talents that He’s given me for those around me and I know that He expects me to stop putting myself down about them and other desires He’s given me. After all, if He’s given me the desires then He will not let me fail. In fact, I will more than likely exceed all my expectations in the matter.

I believe that God expects me to TRUST Him and to go to Miami by faith knowing that it’s something completely new yet the adventure He’s been preparing me for. It’s a new life, a new beginning, one that has so much behind every corner, I will be stretched, I will be rejected, I will be disappointed, I will be sad, excited, nervous and happy all at the same time, I will be home-sick and friend-sick, I will be focused and scattered, but most of all I WILL BE FAITHFUL! I know it won’t be easy, if it was I would think there was something wrong and God knows that.

I have a journey ahead of me but I must keep moving forward

I know that God expects me to move forward even though in the inside I feel like chaining myself to the church doors so I can’t leave! But then He reminds me like He always does, in that gentle voice that I am the church, that the church is more than just a building and that wherever the Gospel is presented there He will be also. and He expects me to share it with those people in Miami that He’s already prepared for such a time as this… Who knew, GOD KNEW!!!

God knew that He wanted this California born girl in Tennessee to find Him become a disciple, live a sold out life, and marry a man from Maine so that we together could go to Miami, Florida and reach a certain group of people who He already predetermined we’d meet and pour our lives into. Yeah, He’s pretty amazing like that.

His Love IS Real and I am awed by it every day! It’s hard to believe sometimes that He reached out and grabbed me and set me apart even from the beginning to do great things on His behalf, but I guess that’s where my faith kicks in and allows me to simply obey and believe that He knows what He’s doing.

I am going to Florida with my husband and our dear friends Fikri, Goty, and their daughter Amira leaving all I’ve ever known and loved behind and I know that God expects me to simply hold on and depend completely on Him… and so I continue to walk forward simply because God expects me to, and I am willing to oblige because He hasn’t nor will He EVER steer me wrong! He expects me to trust and so here I am trusting in the Lord!

Leave a comment